Bhutan is purely a Buddhist country. Its official religion is Drukpa Kagyu. In fact it is the only Buddhist country in the world. The people in Bhutan are deeply religious and religiously follow Buddhist philosophies and way of life. The prayer flags, monasteries, dzongs and rituals all reflect Buddhist dominance. However, there are communities who follow other religions such as Hinduism and Christianity.

Guru Rinpoche or Padmasambhava is believed to have founded and started Buddhism in Bhutan around 8th century. Taktsang Monastery or Tiger’s Nest Monastery was built by Guru Rinpoche where he spent years meditating. The form of Buddhism practiced in Bhutan today is called Tantric Vajrayana. Two Buddhist schools of Drukpa Kagyupa and Nyingmapa influence Bhutanese life.

The constitution of Bhutan treats all religions equally and has religious tolerance in its policy. Since the inception of democracy in 2008, Bhutan as a nation treats religion and politics as two separate entities. The official justification has been to maintain the sanctity of religion.

One of state’s goal has been to maintain traditional values and cultural identity while promoting cultural and religious diversity.